Pepto-Bismal and Prosperi-Tea: Talking About Guts

This post is about guts. How many times have you had an upset stomach and reached for the magic in pink, Pepto Bismol? If you are anything like me, I grew up with this cooling, pink, minty elixir. Not a clue as to what is was. I just knew it was medicine. And that it worked.

Fast forward to the present. Every so often, you have one of those days. Days where you know you really do not need to eat a certain something (or really should not)… you really, really don’t… but you eventually munch it down anyway. For me, this usually involves gluten, because I am a sucker for sweets (if you did not know).

Of course, afterwards, I am in serious gut trouble. However, I do not reach for the nearest pink bottle of Pepto anymore. Instead, I’ve found a lovely solution for that bloating, awful feeling when the world seems much too round. Tea.

Yes, tea. You will note that these look a little oddly packaged. These are not ordinary, they are medicinal teas. Prepared properly, you can enjoy a world of soothing comfort from peppermint leaves or a little boost from cocoa extracts.

Now please note, there is no way I am promoting this chocolate tea as a chocolate alternative. It is flavored hot water. Let’s be real. However, I do enjoy the sweet flavor of the chocolate tea. It is also a “laxative” and while I do not think of tea as a “strong cure,” I do believe this tea gently re-engages the bowels. Off and on constipation problems? This is a more natural way to handle that.

You may be thinking, but what if I do not like tea? Sometimes, something sweet can be a little more appealing. Not a light, airy sophisticated sweetness, but a real blast of sugarcane. For times like this, I add my favorite sweetener.

Did I mention it is locally made in Arizona? Healthier than sugar? Gluten free? Oh yes. And as you can see, it comes in flavors! My favorite is in the picture. Vanilla Creme brightens my coffee, my tea… I love it.

SweetLeaf produces quality too. A few facts from their site:

  • SweetLeaf Stevia® Sweetener does not use chemicals, alcohols, solvents or enzymes at any stage of the extraction and purification process.
  • SweetLeaf Stevia® Sweetener contains only two ingredients: stevia leaf extract and inulin, a soluble vegetable fiber. Inulin is a naturally occurring prebiotic that nourishes the body’s good intestinal flora, supporting good digestive health and immune function.
  • SweetLeaf Stevia® Sweetener is ideal for everyone, including people watching their weight, managing diabetes and fitness enthusiasts who embrace clean eating.

I highly recommend trying the liquid sweetener for iced tea too. One thing I do not recommend it for is a sugar replacement in baking. Of course, for our purposes, it is golden. 🙂

Q: For all those bloated, ick days out there, I no longer rely on the pink bottle. What do you do? Are you willing to try a medicinal tea? A liquid sweetener?

image source: food craving, cookies!

Comments ♥

